The Mathematical Olympiads

Sunday, 17 July 2011 14:27 administrator
Print PDF

What is a Mathematical Olympiad?

A Mathematical Olympiad is a problem solving competition open to all "mathletes". The aim of the competition is to test innate problem solving skills. The problems are restricted to those that require minimal background and high ingenuity. Since one of the goals of such olympiads is to identify talent at a young age, these olympiads are usually restricted to students not yet admitted to any undergraduate programme.

International Mathematical Olympiad (IMO)

The International Mathematical Olympiad (IMO) is the World Championship Mathematics Competition for High School students and is held annually in a different country. The first IMO was held in 1959 in Romania, with 7 countries participating. It has gradually expanded to over 100 countries from 5 continents. IMO 2011 will be held in Amsterdam, The Netherlands. IMO 2012 will be held in Argentina.

India has been participating in the IMO since 1989. The 6-member Indian team for the IMO is selected through a three-step procedure, organised by the Homi Bhabha Centre for Science Education (HBCSE) on behalf of the National Board for Higher Mathematics (NBHM) and funded by the Department of Atomic Energy, Government of India.

  • Step I: The Regional Mathematical Olympiad (RMO)

The Regional Mathematical Olympiad is a state level examination, a stepping stone towards the national level examination, the INMO.

  • Step II: The Indian National Mathematical Olympiad (INMO)

    • Mukul Chaudhuri Memorial Prize

We are happy to announce the establishment of Mukul Chaudhuri Memorial Prize for the best girl student from each Class VIII to XII, irrespective of whether they are selected for INMO or not, provided they score a minimum qualifying marks. The Prize, in form of books, is made possible by a generous gift from Professor Soma Chaudhuri of Iowa State University, in the memory of her mother.
Mukul Chaudhuri (1922 - 2007) was a talented student of mathematics. She received the Kirtichand-Mackenzie Memorial Gold Medal in 1938, awarded to the candidate with the highest marks in mathematics in the Calcutta University Matriculation Exam. She completed her Bachelor's degree in Mathematics in 1942. However her academic career was cut short due to the political situation at the time (Partition of India). She became a school teacher in mathematics and taught in a variety of schools, both in India and abroad. Even though she couldn't further her own academic career, she encouraged numerous girls to pursue higher education in mathematics-related disciplines.

  • West Bengal RMO to IMO: The Hall of Fame
    • 1993: Sambuddha Roy (Silver)
    • 1994: Sambuddha Roy (Silver)
    • 1999: Abhishek Saha (Bronze)
    • 2000: Samik Basu (Silver), Swarnendu Datta (Silver), Abhishek Saha (Silver)
    • 2001: Samik Basu (Silver), Swarnendu Datta (Bronze), Abhishek Saha (Silver), Sucharit Sarkar (Gold)
    • 2002: Sucharit Sarkar (Silver), Swarnendu Datta (Silver)
    • 2003: Swarnendu Datta (Silver)
    • 2005: Riddhipratim Basu
    • 2006: Riddhipratim Basu (Bronze)
    • 2008: Rudradev Basak (Bronze)
    • 2009: Akashnil Dutta (Silver), Subhadip Chowdhury (Bronze)
    • 2010: Akashnil Dutta (Silver), Satyaki Mukherjee (Bronze), Ronno Das (Honourable Mention)
  • How does one prepare?

o Syllabus

o What are the books available, and how do I get them?

  • Organisational Structure:
    • Natioanal Coordinator: Professor S S Sane, Department of Mathematics, University of Mumbai, Ranade Bhavan Extension, Vidyanagari Marg, Mumbai 400098. Phone: (022) 2652 8871 (O), (022) 2652 6490 (R), e-mail:
    • Joint Regional Coordinators for West Bengal : Professor Rana Barua & Dr. Pradipta Bandyopadhyay, Stat-Math Unit, Indian Statistical Institute, 203, B T Road, Kolkata 700 108, Phone : 2575-3400/3410/3422, E-mail:
    • The regions and regional coordinators
  • RMO Questions 1990-2007:

RMO-1990, RMO-1991, RMO-1992, RMO-1993, RMO-1994, RMO-1995, RMO-1996, RMO-1997, RMO-1998, RMO-1999, RMO-2000, RMO-2001, RMO-2002, RMO-2003, RMO-2004, RMO-2005, RMO-2006, RMO-2007.

  • INMO Questions 1989-2008:

INMO-1989, INMO-1990, INMO-1991, INMO-1992, INMO-1993, INMO-1994, INMO-1995, INMO-1996, INMO-1997, INMO-1998, INMO-1999, INMO-2000, INMO-2001, INMO-2002, INMO-2003, INMO-2004, INMO-2005, INMO-2006, INMO-2007, INMO-2008.

  • Some recent RMO-INMO questions and solutions may be found here.